RSS Feed

Colour your life

Posted on

In the previous post, I mentioned that we should not judge a book by its cover. Now let me turn that around and say, never judge a cover by its book.

Doesn’t make sense?

It just so happened that for this particular book, I saw what was written inside first. My seminar classmate, Xie Ai, was studiously jotting down notes in her book. On the other hand, I was trying to catch my professor’s words as they zoomed past and then vanished into thin air as if they had never been uttered. Also, I had been pretty late and missed a good part of the seminar…

So at the end of the class, I asked my friend if I could photocopy her notes. She said yes, then proceeded to close the book and hand it over to me.

My eyes widened when she did. Before me was a book with a most bright and lovely cover!

So ‘Never judge a cover by its book’ simply means you should not expect that if the book is boring and a a challenge to read, the cover will be as mundane too.

 

Isn’t this such a lovely idea? To think of a colour and snip pictures that have that colour and paste it on your…school notebook!

If you’re into colour palettes, do hop over to the Creature Comforts blog. Her posts pay quite a bit of attention to colour– she generates colour palettes from pictures, and her etsy finds usually have a uniform colour scheme. What is cool is that you can actually browse her posts by colour.

If you like what you see, you’ll be happy to note that you can generate your own colour palette from your uploaded pictures too here. It isn’t the most precise tool, for I had expected that yellow should have featured in the colour palette for Xie Ai’s notebook, but it is one of the colour palettes which generate results fast and has no limit on the image size.

Here are the examples of the colour palettes generated from Xie Ai’s notebook and a bookmark I made in January:



 

Leave a comment