RSS Feed

Contemplating nature

Posted on

Erin over at Dropped Stitches has the most lovely photos which remind me that the earth is really divine amidst the mundane, and I particularly like this one.

Photobucket

It speaks of bliss, a moment of joyful contemplation. A moment where one appreciates the beauty of nature without asking what practical benefits nature has for us. Instead, nature is loved as it is.

Nature draws us in, spell-binding in restorative way. It is to this aspect of nature that I believe C.S.Lewis alludes to when he says,

“You and I have need of the strongest spell that can be found to wake us from the evil enchantment of worldliness.” –The Weight of Glory

Do you feel the same about nature? What are some of your favourite blogs/websites which celebrate the beauty of nature? Share them here!

:),

Serene

4 responses »

  1. Here’s one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqsXc_aefKI

    The most beautiful and glorious video I’ve seen in quite some time.

    Reply
  2. It is breathtaking, makes me feel as if the earth is so filled with magic! Especially love the part where the flower was reflected in the dewdrop and the bird sucking nectar, and the butterflies, together with the music 😀 You know, I saw a bird sucking nectar today! May 11 should be “Pollination Day”

    Reply
  3. I love how the hummingbird flies upside down when it’s chasing the bee. And also the bats. They seem so unsightly when we see then fluttering about at normal speed, but in slow motion they’re so graceful!

    Reply
  4. Oh I didn’t catch that one! Time to watch the video another time 🙂 Yes the bats are graceful, but I’m still afraid of them. They always hung upside down on ceilings in my primary school just waiting to drop, or so I felt 😡

    Reply

Leave a Reply

