RSS Feed

Jo’s birthday banner

For Jo’s birthday this year, I wanted to make something special.

Having been doing some amount of blog-hopping, I found several banners that caught my eye. I just love banners. I love how they’re big and hang across the room. I love the inspirational messages written on them and the idea of waking up to one. Cards are cool, but it also makes total sense to have messages of love within reach (just look behind your birthday banner) instead of in the drawer.

But Jo doesn’t have a very big room, so I don’t think she can afford to hang a banner across her room or her wall, because it’ll make the room look messy.

So I decided I can make a vertical one instead, one she can hang on her cupboard knob, or door knob. I know it looks pretty nice on my door knob ๐Ÿ™‚

It folds nicely into a cheerful yellow polka-dot bag…

And has the message ‘God loves Jo’. That is something I think people need more reminding of. Also, the message would require 8 cards and there’re 8 of us in MO-PY (minus Jo), ย just perfect for everyone to write a personal message on each card.

I stamped the word ‘love’ and a picture of lips using eraser stamps I carved myself

๐Ÿ˜€ Jo will wake up to reminders of how loved she is every morning now!

 

Who is Jo, and what is MO-PY?

Jo is a friend I met while going for MO-PY. MO-PY is a Catholic cell group under the Catholic Students’ Society based in the National University of Singapore. Although some of us have graduated, we still keep in contact and celebrate one another’s birthdays every month. We have a reason to meet almost every month also because someone’s birthday falls every month. Stef’s was in January (click here to read more ). Jo’s is in February. Mine is coming ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yadda yadda ๐Ÿ˜€

To celebrate Jo’s birthday last year, we went to the Botanical Gardens for a picnic. This is the photo of all of us posing for the scenario, ‘Cockroach drops on my head!’. Some of us didn’t have time to adjust our expressions though, and ended up looking mighty delighted.


 

Leave a Reply

