RSS Feed

Whimsybeams header project #1

I’ve been working on a design for my header today. I wanted it to reflect the kind of art I do– quilling and paper-cutting (though admittedly this is lacking in the picture because I didn’t find a need to have complicated cuts), and also to show the materials I usually use– brown paper and elephant poo paper.

This is what I came up with: a picture of me in the sky, carried by a helium balloon and holding a paintbrush…

I like my trees, made with polka-dot ribbon and brown paper. The polka-dots look like silver fruits 🙂

This is one of the related passages which sparked my imaginations as a child:

“Suddenly he (the Selfish Giant) rubbed his eyes in wonder and looked and looked. It certainly was a marvellous sight. In the farthest corner of the garden the tree had quite changed. Lovely white blossoms covered its golden branches and silver fruit hung down from every bough. And underneath the tree stood the little boy (representing Jesus) he had once loved.”

– The Selfish Giant

 

Oh, and I’m not holding my paintbrush just for show. It’s for writing the words “Whimsybeams” in the sky!

2 responses »

  1. Nice!! 🙂

    Shouldn’t you be holding a pair of scissors?

    Reply
  2. Oh, that’s a brilliant idea. Then I can cut out the words on the sky instead, and bring my piece of sky wherever I go 🙂 😀

    Yay, I will work on that when I’m free next!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

